ASU Wind Team Participates in the International Small Wind Turbine Contest

Ain Shams University is participating this year in the International small wind turbine contest organized by the NHL University of Applied Sciences in Netherlands. The contest is a competition in which university student teams from different countries can compete in designing and building the best performing Small Wind Turbine (SWT). The goal of the contest is to design and build a SWT, which has optimal power production in a pre-specified wind regime. The teams should consider safety cost efficiency as well as esthetics of the design.  The contest is held annually since 2012. This year, the contest is scheduled on 5 – 7 July. The contest this year includes six teams from five well-reputed universities in the field of Wind Energy research. These universities are:

  • DTU, Technical University of Denmark (2 teams)
  • Lodz University (Poland)
  • Ain Shams University with a team (Egypt)
  • Inholland University of Applied Science Delft (Netherlands)
  • NHL University of Applied Science (Netherlands)

Ain Shams University will be the first university from the Middle East to participate in this contest through the ASUWind team which includes eight engineering students through their graduation projects:

  • Ahmed Alaa Abdullah
  • Ahmed Ali Ahmed Badr Ahmed Abotahoun
  • Ahmed Farag Moussa Mohamed
  • Ahmed Magdy Abdelhamed Fouad Ahmed
  • Hady Tarek Abdelaty Mohamed Mohamed
  • Merna Khaled Mohamed Ali Abbas
  • Mohammed Ahmed Mostafa Mohammed
  • Sherif Mohammed Abdelgowad Mohamed Elsaffourie

The team is supervised by Dr. Ashraf Mostafa, Dr. Adel Elsabbagh and Eng. Ahmed Hesham. Being a multidisciplinary project, the students belong to three undergraduate programs: Design & Production, Energy, and Mechatronics.
The contest incorporates the following phases:

  • Design report deadline is set at 1st of May 2017.
  • Turbine test days at the wind tunnel at TU Delft are: 5th – 6th of July.
  • Symposium day, final presentations and prize ceremony at NHL University 7th of July.