Part E: Course Pool

All the programs use course from the Faculty Departments. There are 13 departments at the Faculty of Engineering, Ain Shams University. They are listed in the following table.

Any given course can be used in different Programs based on the Program requirement. The course code follows the Department offering this course. The course coding is divided into two parts and follows the following convention:

  1. Three Letters which are the Department code listed in Table 38.
  2. Three Numbers indicating the Level, the Specialization inside the department, and a counter inside the specialization.

Some of the courses offered by the department are offered in two versions (with the same code and contents), to account for the large number of students with respect to the number of teaching staff. The courses are amended with the letter “s”. These courses will only be offered in a transition phase of 3 years until the Faculty balances the student to teacher ratio in these courses. These courses are different that they have different assessment criteria.